Board & Committees

Image of KWIC Board


"Community development has always been a priority for me. When I transitioned from a buzzing campus-based life to a regular community-based life outside of school, there was a void. KWIC filled that void by re-establishing my connection to the Trent community, but also provided invaluable connection to the innovative and energetic work of the youth and community that are part of KWIC’s work and programs. "
Liana Honsinger – Volunteer, KWIC Board of Director 

KWIC Board Members

Executive Members

Carmella Valles — Board Chairperson
Immigration Consultant

Faith Mwesigye – Vice-Chairperson
Administrative Assistant, Trent University Secretariat

Edward (Ted) Vale, MBA — Treasurer | Chair of the Finance & HR Committee
Retired, Executive Director

Ryan Sisson, M.Sc —  Secretary

Team Lead, Community + Workplace Partnerships

Coordinator, Trent Community-Based Research

Directors - General

Kimberly Lansdowne, S.S.W.,B.A. – Chair of the Fundraising Committee

Trent University Student, Undergraduate 

Liana Honsinger – Chair of the Program Committee
Case Management Worker, New Canadians Centre

Dennis Howlett – Chair of the Communications Committee

Retired, NFP Executive Director

Marcelino Entzin Lopez

Social anthropologist and farmer

Priscilla Boniol, Director

Trent University Student, undergraduate

Reem Ali

Community Educator and Teaching Assistant, Trent University


Julie Cosgrove — Executive Director


KWIC Standing Committees:

Finance & HR Committee

Ted Vale — Board Treasurer/Committee Chair

Ryan Sissson, HR Liaison

Carmela Valles, Board Chair

Julie Cosgrove, Executive Director


Fundraising Committee

Kimberly Lansdowne  — Chair

Ted Vale, Treasurer

Hermione Rivison, Past Chair

Priscillia Bonial, Director

Faith Mwesigye, Director

Julie Cosgrove, Executive Director


Program Committee

Liana Honsinger  — Committee Chair

Marcelino Lopez, Director

Reem Ali, Director

Shaelyn Wabegijig, KWIC Program Coordinator

Julie Cosgrove, KWIC Executive Director

Shacia Albertine, Community Volunteer

James Outterson, Community Volunteer

Joyce Murray, Community Volunteer


TEACH Social Justice Certificate Program Committee

Erin Clancy —TEACH Program Coordinator

Julie Cosgrove, Kawartha World Issues Centre

Karleen Pendleton Jimenez, Trent School for Education and Professional Learning

Angela Connors, Community Race Relations

Kristin Muskratt & Kelly King, TRACKS Youth Program

Joëlle Favreau, Nourish (YWCA)

Javier Bravo, New Canadians Centre

Shenel Boyce, TEACH Graduate, Trent SE&PL 


Youth Facilitators Collective

Margaret Zou, KWIC Liaison

James Outterson, KWIC Volunteer

Megan O’Neil, Education Placement Student

Adrianna Long, Education Placement Student

Shaelyn Wabegijig, KWIC Program Coordinator


(as of April 2021)




Connecting for Change!

Join our mailing list here to keep in touch with KWIC actions and events.